New Forum  Old forum threa...  General  400m training
Previous Previous

Next Next
New Post 5/15/2008 4:27 PM
  Linas
11 posts
10th Level Poster

400m training 
Modified By Prof. Verkhoshansky  on 5/26/2008 5:36:01 PM)

Hello Professor

I read many of your articles and its great that we have such a possibility. I am a 400m runner with an average result of 47.95 and I am going to run about 47.50 if my body allows. However now Im 25 and being teenager I was trained as a middle distance runner mostly for 800m. Later my body composition changed and I was too heavy for such distances now I weigth 81kg and my heigh is 1.88m. I was so upset with my performance especially in 400m with PB of 52.16. At the age of 20m I started training on my own just for 400m because I wanted to know can I run faster and it looks that its possible. What mostly limits my perfomance is my max speed because 200m PB is 22.40. If I ran 22.0 then I could expect about 47.0 with the same speed endurance. Mostly I am following Clyde Hart training philosophy "train slow to run faster". Its about interval training better more volume with slower pace and shorter recoveries. Then its less chances to be injury prone and not so much CNS fatigue. But what about speed, Hart says it comes more from strength training and some speed drills. He doesnt mix intervals and speed, I mean no fast intervals just some before peaking and major competitions. How its better to incorporate speed training in a weekly cycle when I do 3 interval session a week if to start from monday with interval session with a sunday rest? Usually when intervals become faster then legs become heavier and its hard to incorporate speed sessions in a weekly cycle